EARTHLINGS: HOW A MOVIE MADE ME AWARE OF MY IGNORANCE 

When I moved to Bali in January I noticed that my eating habits slowly started to change. Besides the fact that I started eating Oreos on an almost daily basis, I also barely eat meat anymore. This had everything to do with the way meat is often presented here in Bali, which led to skipping pieces of chicken and pork and choosing more veggies and tofu instead. I started realizing that I didn’t miss meat at all (well okay, except for my Dutch frikadellen cravings) so I started considering to ban meat from my meals forever. 

Two of my close friends became pescetarians (those who don’t eat meat but still eat fish) after seeing this one movie called Earthlings. By the time that happened I didn’t really care neither was I interested in this movie so I didn’t ask any questions and just accepted their new eating habits.

My boyfriend and I had some regular talks about my changing eating behaviour and during our trip to Kuala Lumpur we decided to go on YouTube and watch Earthlings. During the 1 hour and 30 minutes that followed I cried my eyes out while hiding behind my boyfriend’s back. Every chapter of this movie made me shiver and please, let me state clear that before watching this movie I wasn’t the typical animal lover that you would expect me to be.   While watching this movie it felt like someone kept kicking me in my stomach and the very intense way the pigglets screamed while heartless workers cut off their tales made me wanna throw up. When the movie ended I was laying on my bed in complete silence while I was overthinking what my eyes just had witnessed. I wanted to do something, but being this materialistic and hamburger and fish sticks eating girl, this seemed to be an impossible task. 

I talked about this with one of my pescetarian friends who reminded me of the fact that every effort -even the very small ones- makes a difference. If everyone on this very big planet would think twice before buying those leather shoes, decides to reduce their use of meat and fish in their daily meals and would educate themselves when it comes to pollution and animal abuse for human purposes, the world would be a much better place.

For this moment I decided to stop eating meat. Not only because of animal cruelty, but also because of all the pollution that comes with it and simply the fact that I don’t feel the need to eat meat at all. Also I am aiming for a life with cruelty free make-up and without leather and fish, but I know that this is something that takes time and for me personaly can’t be done over night. I started realizing how strongly animal cruelty and pollution is intergrated in our society, which makes it extremely hard to avoid.  I hope that during the months that follow I can keep educating myself regarding these topics so that making the right descisions will become easier. This movie made me realize how ignorant our society is, even with all neccesary information being only a few clicks away. People got in a total shock when they heard about the dog eating festival in China, while in their own countries racoons are electrocuted through their anus for their furs and pigs are being drowned or beaten to death for their meat.

The intention of this article is not to turn everyone into vegans, vegeterians or pescetarians, but to show you the importance of educating yourself and being aware of what is need to be done to deliver you that piece of chicken for diner. Please, acknowledge the size of this problem instead of closing your eyes and denying it, because in this era there is no excuse nor place for ignorance.

Link to the full Earthlings movie: CLICK

One thought on “EARTHLINGS: HOW A MOVIE MADE ME AWARE OF MY IGNORANCE 

Leave a comment